JCB, the payment brand born in Japan, was established on 25 January 1961 as Japan Credit Bureau, jointly funded by Sanwa Bank and Nihon Shinyo Hanbai. In 1978 it took its present name, JCB Co., Ltd., and in 1981 it began expanding overseas as an international brand from Japan. The platinum card that JCB itself issues is the JCB Platinum.

This article looks at the JCB Platinum (the Platinum below) and asks whether its 27,500 yen annual fee (tax included) is matched by what you receive. It balances dining, travel and hotel privileges, but several of them carry conditions of use. Only facts confirmed on the official pages are used.

Annual fee

27,500 yen (tax included) for the main member. The first family card is free; from the second, 3,300 yen (tax included) each.

Airports

Priority Pass, available to the main member only. JCB is said to cover the annual fee and per-visit charges.

Concierge

The Platinum Concierge Desk by phone or the MyJCB app, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Dining

A gourmet benefit: one person's course is free when two or more book at selected restaurants.

What to know before you apply

The fee is relatively modest, but some privileges come with conditions. Start there.

The details below follow the official JCB website as of October 29, 2026. Benefits can change, and the terms shown at application are the final reference.

Priority Pass needs an application, and is for the main member

Priority Pass does not work automatically just because you hold the card. The official page says only the main member can apply, and a set procedure applies. Conditions for family members and guests are not stated on the page that was checked. If your family will use airport lounges, check guest charges in the terms.

The travel insurance trigger is not stated

Overseas and domestic travel accident insurance is described as up to 100 million yen. Whether cover is automatic or applies only when the trip is paid for with the card, and the breakdown between death and disability benefits, are not stated on the page that was checked. This article does not guess. Read the insurance document before you travel.

The gourmet benefit is limited in frequency

One person's course is free when two or more book a set course at a selected restaurant. In principle, though, it can be used once every six months at each restaurant. It does not suit going back to the same place again and again.

No domestic airport lounge is described

The page that was checked mentions only Priority Pass for overseas lounges. If domestic airport lounges are your aim, confirm the conditions separately.

The fee and the reality of the points

The annual fee of 27,500 yen (tax included) is about 2,292 yen a month. First, can the points alone recover it?

The Platinum earns 1 point for every 200 yen (tax included). One point can be used as up to one yen. So the base return is at most 0.5%. Recovering 27,500 yen from base points alone would take 5,500,000 yen of spending a year (27,500 yen divided by 0.5%). The calculation assumes one point equals one yen.

What this shows is that the Platinum is not a card that wins back its fee through point return. The value lies in privileges. At partner shops the page says points can reach up to 20x, a return of up to 10%, provided you use the card there.

Counting the benefits

The benefits that could be confirmed on the official page are below.

Benefit What the page states What to ask yourself
Priority Pass Airport lounges in 143 countries and regions; main member only How often do I fly?
Platinum Concierge 24 hours, 365 days; phone or MyJCB app Do I have things to ask for?
Gourmet benefit One person's course free for two or more; in principle once every six months per restaurant How often do I eat out, and with whom?
Hotel privilege JCB Premium Stay Powered by HoteLux: coupons worth 20,000 yen (5,000 yen four times a year) Do I have stays planned?
Golf Booking for about 1,200 courses nationwide by phone Do I play golf?
Shopping Guard insurance Up to 5 million yen a year Check the conditions

Take the hotel coupons: 20,000 yen is roughly 70% of the 27,500 yen fee on its own. But the coupons are for hotel bookings, so without stays they are worth nothing.

JCB's history and the card's character

After its founding in 1961, JCB first built a system of credit sales in Japan. In 1978 it took its present name, and in 1981 it decided, as a Japanese card company, to build an international brand of its own. A local company was set up in Hong Kong that year, and the first JCB card issued overseas was in Hong Kong in 1984.

A history of putting down roots at home and then spreading abroad shows in the Platinum. It is a card meant to support Japanese travelers at home and overseas: Priority Pass for lounges abroad and a 24-hour concierge in Japanese.

Travel benefits

The travel benefits are these.

Priority Pass

Airport lounges in 143 countries and regions are available (as stated on the page checked). The official page says the annual fee and per-visit charges are covered by JCB. Only the main member can apply.

Platinum Concierge

Available by phone or through the MyJCB app, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, for travel arrangements and restaurant reservations among other things.

Travel accident insurance

Cover of up to 100 million yen is described for overseas and domestic travel. The trigger is not stated on the page checked.

Dining and hotel privileges

Dining and stays are a major pillar of the Platinum.

Gourmet benefit

When two or more book a set course at a selected restaurant, one person's course is free. If a course costs 10,000 yen per person, that is 10,000 yen saved in one visit, and three visits a year would save 30,000 yen, enough to reach the fee. This is an assumption to make the arithmetic clear. Check the real restaurants and prices at booking.

JCB Premium Stay Powered by HoteLux

Coupons worth 20,000 yen for hotel bookings are provided, 5,000 yen at a time, four times a year. The page adds that registration brings benefits such as breakfast for two and an in-hotel credit of up to 200 US dollars.

Golf

Booking for about 1,200 golf courses nationwide is taken by phone. There is also an entry service for prestigious golf clubs at special prices reserved for JCB Premium card members.

Thinking about family cards

The first family card is free, and from the second, each costs 3,300 yen (tax included). With one family member there is no extra cost. For each additional member, 3,300 yen a year is added.

Which benefits each family member can use must be checked. Priority Pass is for the main member only, so a family member's lounge use falls under separate conditions.

Different kinds of users

The result depends on how you use the card. Three scenes follow, all assumptions.

Someone who dines out with company

Someone who can use the gourmet benefit at several restaurants recovers the fee more easily. Because each restaurant is limited to once every six months, the number of restaurants matters.

Someone who travels for work or leisure

Priority Pass, the concierge and the travel insurance are of use. Check the insurance conditions in the terms.

Someone who mainly travels in Japan

The hotel coupons and golf privileges fit. Priority Pass for lounges abroad will see little use.

First steps after joining

Many benefits need an application or registration.

  1. Apply for Priority Pass. Only the main member can apply, by the set procedure.
  2. Install the MyJCB app. It is used for the concierge and to check benefits.
  3. Register for HoteLux. Hotel coupons and benefits such as breakfast for two need registration.
  4. Check the gourmet benefit restaurants for places you want to visit.

Comparing with other platinum cards

Axis What can be confirmed for the Platinum
Annual fee 27,500 yen (tax included); the first family card is free
Points 1 point per 200 yen; base return at most 0.5%
Direction of benefits Privileges first; points alone barely recover the fee
Protection Travel accident insurance up to 100 million yen; trigger needs checking

Against a points-focused card, the difference in design is clear. Put the other cards on this site in the same table to compare.

Applying

The official page does not state specific eligibility conditions or the spending limit. It says only that the card is issued under JCB Platinum's own screening standards. This article does not guess the standards.

Who the card suits

The Platinum bundles Priority Pass, a 24-hour concierge, a gourmet benefit and hotel coupons for 27,500 yen (tax included). It does not recover its fee through points. It pays for itself when you actually use the privileges.

Three checks help the decision:

  1. How many times a year do you dine with two or more people?
  2. Do you have stays planned that can use the hotel coupons?
  3. Will you actually use Priority Pass or the concierge?

If you can answer yes to two or more, you can use the fee well. If not, compare cards that put point return first.

This article follows the official JCB website as of October 29, 2026. The terms and screens shown at application are the final reference.